The table above shows the screen resolution and colour bit depth of your current monitor.


This is the number of rows and columns used to create the image on the screen.

1600 X 1200 pixels (UXGA) is found on 21 to 19 inch monitors.
1280 X 1024 pixels (SXGA or XVGA) is found on 19 and 17 inch flat screen monitors.
1024 X 768 pixels (XGA) is found on 15 inch flat screen monitors.
800 X 600 pixels (SVGA) is found on older computers, e.g. Windows 98 and Me.
640 X 480 pixels (VGA) is found on Windows 95 computers but is now defunct.

1920 X 1200 (WUXGA)
1680 X 1050 (WSXGA+)
1440 X 900 (WXGA+) is found on 17 inch laptops.
1280 X 800 (WXGA)

These figures are intended as general guidelines, since monitors of different sizes are available with a range of screen resolutions.


This is the number of bits (ones or zeroes) that the computer allocates to each pixel.

32 bit colour depth is found on modern computers.
24 or 16 bit colour depth is found on older computers.


The pixel depth display may not work in all browsers.  Pixel depth is the maximum number of colours that can be displayed by the screen at one time.  For 32 and 24 bit pixel depth this is around 16.7 million colours (known as Truecolor or Millions of Colors for Apple Mac users), while for 16 bit pixel depth it is 65,536 colours.


Test your LCD monitor for dead pixels with Dead Pixel Buddy and test the performance of your monitor's screen with TestScreens.  Use EyeDropper to display the RGB, Hex and YMCK colour values of any pixel on your screen.  All are very simple to use, require no install and are designed to run on any Windows computer.

  Click here to download these three pieces of freeware (Zip file, 121 KB).

  Sign the Guestbook

    See also:  The WebDoodles Test Page demonstrates three types of browser animation.



This website is best viewed at
1024 X 768 pixels or above.
Screen width in pixels:
Screen height in pixels:
Colour depth in bits:
Pixel depth in bits: